BOTTOM FB 2 BOTTOM TW 2 BOTTOM FR 2 Pinterest-logo

  
Catalog Site Google

CLOSING NOTICE: The Main Library will be closed on Sunday, April 20, for the Easter holiday.

Information for Borrowers

Your library card is a valuable key to lifelong learning. We hope you will use it often to borrow materials that are informative and entertaining. In order to ensure that library materials will be more readily available for everyone, we ask you to comply with the following rules and procedures:


Borrowers' Cards

 

Ohio residents may receive a borrower's card free of charge upon registration. There is an annual fee of $10.00 for out-of-state borrowers who are not employed or attending school in Ohio. There is a $2.00 charge for replacement of a lost or damaged card.

 


Registration Procedures

 

Applications may be completed at any library location. Applicants are required to provide one form of identification with current name and address. For example, a driver’s license, utility bill, or mail delivered by the post office. A parent, legal guardian, or legally responsible care-giving relative over the age of 18 must be present to co-sign the application of a child under the age of 18. The signer or co-signer of any application is responsible for the return in good condition of all materials checked out on that card, and for the payment of any fines or fees incurred on that card. We recommend that cards not be loaned to others. A card will be immediately issued to an applicant if another family member residing at the same address already has a valid Warren-Trumbull County Public Library card in good standing. If no family member residing at the same address has a valid card, the new card will be mailed. Two items per applicant may be checked out at the time of registration. If your library card is lost, report it to the library staff as soon as possible. Until the lost card is reported, you are responsible for all materials, fines and fees incurred on it. Once reported lost, a computer stop is set on the number of that card to prevent unauthorized use of the card.

 


Borrowing Materials

 

Anyone who has been issued a Warren-Trumbull County Public Library borrower's card may borrow materials from the library's circulating collections. You must have your borrower's card with you to check out materials! This ensures that no one else checks out materials in your name. Loan periods vary by type of material. MOST items may be renewed up to three times. Materials may be renewed in person, by phone, or over the Internet. Reference materials may be used in the library only.

 


Reserves/Holds

 

If a particular item you seek is out on loan, you may have a reserve (hold) placed on it. Holds may be placed in person, over the phone or over the Internet.  When it is returned, it will be held a specified time for you, and you will be notified that the item is available. This service is free. If a copy is available at another of our branches, it can be delivered to your branch.

 

 

Overdue Material

 

Borrowers who return material after the due date will be charged overdue fines.

Fines are as follows:

  • Books, magazines, vertical file folders, audio recordings, Playaways - $.10 per item per day
  • Interlibrary loan material, videos and DVDs, Juvenile Big Books, and art prints - $.50 per item per day

 


Lost Materials

 

You will be charged the replacement cost plus a processing fee for each lost or damaged item. An item is considered lost when it is 42 days overdue. Accounts over $25.00 and 60 days overdue will be turned over to a collection agency or brought to litigation in court. Collection and court costs will be passed on to the borrower.

 

 

Loan Periods

 

Loan periods, limits, and fines for circulating materials are as follows:

 

 

Audio books on cassette and CD: no limit
21 days, $.10/day fine

 

CD ROMs: limit 5
7 days, $.50/day fine

 

Educational VHS/DVD: limit 5
21 days, $.50/day fine

 

Entertainment VHS/DVD: limit 5
7 days, $.50/day fine

 

Interlibrary loan: limit 25 total items with a maximum of 10 media items
21 days from date of checkout (unless specified otherwise) $.50/day fine

 

Music cassettes and CDs: limit 10
21 days, $.10/day fine

 

New books: no limit
14 days, $.10/day fine

 

Playaway audio books : limit 2
21 days, $.10/day fine

 

Playaway views: limit 1 (available only at the Main Library)
7 days, $.50/day fine


Print materials (books, magazines, pamphlets): no limit
21 days (unless listed below), $.10/day fine

 


Renewals

Most material may be renewed three times unless the material is on hold for another person. The following are exceptions to the three renewals policy:

  • New Entertainment VHS/DVD (no renewal)
  • Interlibrary loans (determined by lending library) Interlibrary Loan


Books not owned by the Warren-Trumbull County Public Library can often be borrowed for you from another library. Consult a librarian for more information on this service. Photocopies of articles may also be obtained for you. SearchOhioDewey Decimal System